Banyana is absent from the Brazilian squad

Banyana Banyana’s 23-man squad, which will face Brazil in two friendlies, is missing a number of notable players.

ALSO READ: Riveiro praises Pirates’ fighting spirit after Royal AM win

Some of the players who were on the Banyana team that won the Caf Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (Wafcon) title are missing from the squad announced by Desiree Ellis on Saturday.

Thembi Kgatlana is not in the squad due to a long term injury sustained at Wafcon. Spain-based veteran defender Noko Matlou has also been left out of the squad and the reasons for her exclusion are unclear.

However, Ellis has called up a strong squad that includes newly signed Sassoulo midfielder Refiloe Jane and Jermaine Seoposenwe, who also recently signed for Chilean club FC Juarez.

The friendlies against the Copa America champions are part of the Banyana’s preparations for the Fifa Women’s World Cup and Ellis says they are grateful for the games.

“The preparations (for the World Cup) have started very well. We are very grateful to the South African Football Association (Safa) and Sasol for giving us such a quality opponent. You always want to test yourself against better opponents. We couldn’t have asked for a better team,” said the Banyana coach.

“There is a rich history between South Africa and Brazil. We’ve played them before in Rio and Bafana Bafana has played them before.”

Banyana Squad:

Goalkeeper: Andile Dlamini (Sundowns), Kaylin Swart (JVW), Regirl Ngobeni (UWC)
Defender: Karabo Dhlamini (Oakland University), Asanda Hadebe (Sunflower WFC), Janine van Wyk (JVW), Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk), Bambanani Mbane (Sundowns), Bongeka Gumede (UWC), Lonathemba Mhlongo (UWC)
Midfield player: Refiloe Jane (Sassoulo), Nomvula Kgaola (Untied), Linda Motlhalo (Djurgadens), Thalea Smidt (Sunsets), Robyn Moodaly (JVW), Kholosa Biyana (Untied), Amogelang Motau (UWC), Tubelihle Shamase (UJ)
Forward: Jermaine Seoposenwe (Juarez FC), Melinda Kgadiete (Sundowns), Noxolo Cesane (UWC), Nthabiseng Majiya (Richmond), Hildah Magaia (Sejong Sportstoto)